Forum: A Conversation on Race in America

by robinpar

I’ll be a panelist at this panel discussion in Mount Laurel, New Jersey on Saturday, May 5th from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.. I think conversations about race are fascinating and important, and I’m happy to join this one, sponsored by the Southern Burlington County NAACP and the South Jersey/Alice Paul Chapter of NOW.

My friend, Valorie Caffee, will also be a panelist. Valorie is a long-time community organizer with a wealth of insight and knowledge about many aspects of social justice work. Valorie will also be a  featured facilitator at Beyond Diversity’s August 17, 2012 workshop, “Organizing for Social Change: An Anti-Oppression Approach.

The panel discussion will be primarily questions about race from the moderator and the audience, so I can’t say with any certainty what particular topics will be covered. I wonder, however, what you think about such conversations. Do you think they’re helpful? I know that some people think that a forum such as this one is “preaching to the choir,” but I’ve heard other people say that the choir needs to go to church too.

—Always interested in your opinions,

Robin 

